Clever technology for your reptile’s environment

I was recently recommended a new product on the market for monitoring environmental parameters in reptile and amphibian housing. I’m far from a technology geek but having tried it out it is actually a really useful and clever product. It is the Tempo Environmental Monitor from a company called Blue Maestro, and has been designed for a multitude of uses including monitoring of wine cellars, computer servers, nurseries and so on. But the applications for the exotic pet hobby are quite exciting!

Tempo 1

The Tempo is a slick, inconspicuous, pebble-shaped monitor that is very affordable and works via Bluetooth relaying hourly readings of atmospheric pressure, temperature and humidity to your phone or smart device. It can be used over time to graph these parameters, and is particularly useful for monitoring thermostatic control of temperature and making adjustments according to your specific animal’s needs. It is far more sensitive than many of the other commercially available thermometers and hygrometers, and is completely portable so very easy to use throughout entire collections to obtain a store of data.

Tempo 2

The importance of knowing the environmental parameters when keeping ectothermic animals such as reptiles and amphibians cannot be underemphasised, but I am frequently astonished that keepers cannot tell me the exact temperature or humidity they keep their exotic pet at. Frequently, health problems can be attributed by such parameters being off by even a few degrees or percentage. So having tried it out in the hospital vivaria I’m off home this evening to try it out in my own frogs and make sure I’m being a good keeper myself too!

More info here:

http://bluemaestro.com/tempo-environment-monitor/

http://reptileapartment.com/tempo-review/

2 thoughts on “Clever technology for your reptile’s environment

  1. Dea Dr. McCormack, I really like the depth and thoughtfulness of your website. I do not know if you answer professional questions but I will try.

    I had a pair of 2 yrs old Uromastyx thomasi, a rather rare lizards. I had them since they were hatchlings. Then in one day they stopped eating. The male was passing a really liquid stool and the female did not. After a week of not eating, I took them to the vet. He gave them Panacur, Flagyl, and Baytril. After the visit, the female deteriorated rapidly and died in 3 days. We opened her and she had her intestines filled with undigested food. The vet could not find any other abnormalities.

    The male is still alive, rather lethargic and not eating at all. I am taking him to the same vet today to receive s.c. fluids and tube feeding.

    So my three questions are:

    1. The lizards apparently got different conditions but these conditions manifested on one day, so there was probably some common cause. I have no idea what the cause could be. They are in a large enclosure with stone tiles, good lighting and UVB strip. the temp at the basking spot is 125oF but they have enough room (48 x 25 in) to roam around. There is no water bawl the in enclosure. Could you think of some factors that would affect the animals that way? I had a house cleaning crew the day they stopped eating. Could it be the effect of some chemicals in cleaning supplies?
    2. How should I have treated constipation in the female?
    3. Is is a right decision to give my male fluids and tube feeding?

    Thank you very much!

    Anna Lokshin

    • Hi Anna,

      Thanks for your feedback, glad you find it interesting. There are many potential causes for you lizards problems which may be difficult to determine at this point in time. Did your vet screen for parasitic disease, hence the panacur and Flagyl given? Uromastyx really need quite high temperatures for digestion and all other metabolic functions. 125F for a basking spot sounds about right to me as long as they have room to thermoregulate. Is it possible that the cleaning crew plugged out their heating for a few hours perhaps? This could have caused stress or maldigestive issues. Or certainly if some chemical were used nearby there may have been an effect. SC fluids and tube feeding are very useful tools in treating debilitated reptiles, but it is impossible for me to give advice on a blanket regime of treatment for animals I have not examined and are not in my care. If he is dehydrated and lethargic however it sounds like a good plan to me. I hope you and your vet can get to the bottom of the problem and that your male pulls through this episode.

Leave a Reply

